January Jumpstart XXII

by | Dec 2, 2021

Tennessee Mountain Writers presents January Jumpstart XXII

Friday – Saturday, January 14-15, 2022

Mark your calendars for January Jumpstart XXII on January 14 – 15, 2022, to be held virtually on Zoom. We will have a “Meet and Greet” session Friday from 7 p.m. – 8 p.m. Eastern. On Saturday there will be concurrent Poetry and Fiction morning sessions from 9:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Eastern, and afternoon sessions from 1:30 – 4:30 Eastern. Zoom access will be made available in January after registration fees are paid.

Jane Hicks Poetry Leader

Poetry Leader Jane Hicks

is an award-winning poet and quilter. The Jesse Stuart Foundation published her first book, Blood and Bone Remember: Poems from Appalachia, in 2005. The book won the Appalachian Writers Association Poetry Book of the Year and was nominated for the Weatherford Award given by the Appalachian Studies Association. Jane’s poetry has frequently appeared in Now & Then, Appalachian Journal and Shenandoah. Her poems have been anthologized in Migrants and Stowaways and Literary Lunch published by the Knoxville Writers Guild, Crossing Troublesome 25 years of the Appalachian Writers Workshop, Coal: A Poetry Anthology, We All Live Downstream: Writings About Mountaintop Removal, Southern Poetry Anthology: Contemporary Appalachia and Southern Poetry Anthology: Tennessee. Her work will appear in an anthology of poetry with connections to the poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins. Her latest poetry book, Driving with the Dead, was published in 2014 by the University Press of Kentucky and won the Appalachian Writers Association Poetry Book of the Year (2015) and was a finalist for the Weatherford Award.

Darnell Arnoult Fiction Workshop Leader

Fiction leader Darnell Arnoult

is the prize-winning author of Galaxie Wagon: Poems and What Travels With Us: Poems (LSU Press) and the novel Sufficient Grace (Simon & Schuster, Inc.). Her shorter works have appeared in a variety of journals and anthologies, including Appalachian Heritage and Now and Then. She has received the Weatherford Award for Appalachian Literature, SIBA Poetry Book of the Year Award, Mary Frances Hobson Medal for Arts and Letters, The Thomas and Lillie D. Chaffin Award for Appalachian Writing, and in 2007 was named Tennessee Writer of the Year by the Tennessee Writers Alliance. As Writer-in-Residence at Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee, she taught creative writing and was co-director of the Mountain Heritage Literary Festival and the Appalachian Young Writers Workshop. She holds the MA in English and Creative Writing from NCSU and the MFA in Creative Writing from University of Memphis.

Registration Info

Registration fee: $60
Registration Deadline: January 5, 2022

Zoom access will be made available after registration


Additional Information: Contact Sue Richardson Orr at theorrs@usit.net